Giving Thanks

We had a great Thanksgiving today.  The weather was gorgeous, so we spent some time outside.  I got lucky photographing a newly hatched Monarch butterfly that had grown up on one of our milkweed plants.  I ended up with some beautiful shots.  Butterflies are one of my least favorite things to photograph.  Sure, they’re beautiful, but they just don’t know how to sit still.  This one had me running circles around my house because it kept flying over the roof from the front yard to the backyard, and then back to the front.    But still, I persisted.  I got some great shots, it eventually disappeared, so I headed back inside.

It was nice to spend time with my family.  The boys watched the Muppet movie marathon, and Joe cooked our Thanksgiving meal.  I went back and forth from watching with the boys (okay, I was mostly on my computer – but I was sitting with them), and helping Joe in the kitchen.  We ended up eating around 5:00pm, and it was delicious.  With my husband as the chef, the food is always good.  Turkey cooked in a brown bag, mirepoix veggies, garlic mashed potatoes, stuffing, gravy, and biscuits.  Oh, and dessert – a pumpkin spiced pudding pie made by me.  I’m full, and probably a couple of pounds heavier, but it was worth it.  🙂

     I am thankful for many things today and every day.  I won’t even try to list them all, but here are some big ones:  my husband, my children (all four of them), my friends, my family, God – for all He is and all that He does, my home, and all the other many blessings in my life.  I hope you all also had a wonderful Turkey Day.  God Bless!!!

     Now, a couple of pics of the Monarch butterfly:

Leave a Reply

